My Sweet Beaufort has Passed On

To all of you who have known and loved my sweet Beaufort dog over the past 12 years, he is finally at rest. We were given the unsettling news just 4 weeks ago that the symptoms we’d been observing getting worse and worse over the past year weren’t just from old age, but from Degenerative Myelopathy. A terrible degenerative disease that works much like ALS or MS does in people by slowly degenerating the protective covering around his spinal cord, weakening and eventually paralyzing his legs from the back end forward. And while just 4 weeks ago, it was hard to swallow that the growing frequency of the symptoms we were watching were due to this; it has only become much more obvious, and at a much quicker rate, that this would be a very hard road for him to continue traveling and one that we did not wish to make him endure.

The decision does not come easily and it will continue to be hard as we face each day without him, but we do find great peace at knowing we could allow him to rest with such grace and dignity. He’s without a doubt the dog of my lifetime. There will be others but none that spent such great years with me. From high school, to college, to my first job, to finding my husband, and to the promise I was so honored to give him last May that we’d found our last home. My sweet dog endured 8 major moves over 12 years with me without anything short of a tail wag, and I’m so glad we could give him such a wonderful place to live his last year with a big, green yard, and a great river for boat rides with wind-filled ears and beautiful sunsets for those sage, old eyes to soak up.

He’s been my confidant and my bodyguard taking on his role as a protector from the day he and I moved out on our own. He’s stood by my side, circled in front to protect me from approaching strangers, and been dutifully waiting behind for me at home every day. It was a privilege to know him, love him, and share him with so many great people along the way.

“To call him a dog hardly seems to do him justice, though inasmuch as he had four legs, a tail, and barked, I admit he was, to all outward appearances. But to those who knew him well, he was a perfect gentleman.” Hermione Gingold




3 responses to “My Sweet Beaufort has Passed On

  1. Sarah Nell,
    What a beautiful post. My heart breaks for you right now during this difficult time. You were a wonderful mother, & B Dog was the best brown dog ever. He was one of my favorite dogs and will be missed by many. I know he and Maggie are having a ball together right now- running and playing. The followings days, weeks, months will be so hard, but time and knowing you did the right thing will help. I’m always here for you.

    Sarah

  2. Sarah Nell,

    That was just beautiful and a very fitting tribute to Beaufort. I know this is a hard time for you as pets become part of our families and seem to always be by our side for all the good and bad times. I was thinking of our dog Hadley who has been with us for most of the same events you talked about including the arrival of Emma and Ethan. As Hadley is approaching 11 next year we have been thinking and getting the children ready for the time that Hadley is not here. Reading your post made me sad for the loss you are feeling now but happy for you that you have had the love of a great pet!

    • Thank you Carmen! You’re very smart in trying to prepare. It never really comes close to easing the emotional side but does help the mental aspect. And even more true, no matter where it takes you, we have had the love and beautiful service of a great pet. And that makes it all worth starting again and aiming to provide that same love and service to the next deserving dog! Hugs to Hadley:)

Leave a Reply

